In an interview with Josh Horowitz’s Happy Sad Confused podcast (via The Direct), John Boyega, who played Finn in the sequel trilogy, discussed the original plans for Episode IX and said that he has no intention to read the leaked script since he’ll end up being “heartbroken,” especially since he also had meetings with Trevorrow prior to the director’s exit on the project.

“I can’t read that one because I’ll be heartbroken, because I was… I had a sit down with Colin,” Boyega said. “I want to tell you… that’s one of the best Star Wars meetings I’d ever had because it felt like two nerds that were like, ‘Yes, that’s what we want to see!’ And I saw the art, you know, Stormtrooper rebellion, I was like, that stuff was cold.”

Boyega also expressed his hope that Trevorrow will be given a chance by Lucasfilm to work on another Star Wars project sometime in the future.

“Hopefully, Lucasfilm can give him an opportunity down the line to maybe work on something else, you know? Because I’m sure they would love to collaborate with him again in any capacity,” he added.

Based on his comments, it sounds like Boyega has enthusiasm about Trevorrow’s original plans for the film and it looks like Finn would have a much more significant role in the story than what we ended up seeing in Abrams’ The Rise of Skywalker.

So far, Boyega is not expected to return to the franchise anytime soon as he has no plans to reprise the role nor Lucasfilm has announced any future plans for the character in its upcoming projects.

Also Read: Star Wars’ Daisy Ridley Asks John Boyega About His MCU Future

The Star Wars sequel trilogy is available to stream on Disney+.

Star Wars  John Boyega Gets Honest About the Original Plans for Episode 9 - 26